PDA

View Full Version : Visual problems (blind spots)

Au101
18-04-13, 17:10
Hello everyone :) Newbie here. I have a bit of a problem with anxiety in general and hypochondria particularly and one of the things that's been playing on my mind recently is my vision. It started with a few aches and pains over Christmas which made me start worrying about MS or something like that - which, of course, also effects vision. My worries about that have largely died down recently, but (I don't know if it's just general tiredness, stress, etc.) worries about my eyesight have persisted and also with tiredness comes headaches, and it's difficult not to think about tumours.

Anyway, about a month ago the final straw came when i noticed a couple of black spots as I was in bed. They went away after I got up and turned the light on and haven't come back since, but I went to the doctors. I described my other general visual concerns, such as visual snow and floaters and things - as well as this incident - and he said he couldn't see anything to worry about, I was probably just experiencing floaters and I guess those mysterious black spots weren't anything to worry about. But he did recommend I book a routine appointment with an optician - just to be on the safe side. I did that, and my optician said that there was nothing wrong with my eyes that he could see and the most likely explanation for the other visual phenomena I've been concerned with were migraines caused by stress. So I went home feeling happy and have largely been able to ignore the odd floater or whatever since.