PDA

View Full Version : I want to add Wellbutrin to Citalopram

DiscontentOptimist
26-04-13, 16:57
Hi there,

I've made the leap and agreed to take citalopram 20mg for my depression about 2.5 weeks ago. I feel generally anxious about life and have increasing social anxiety issues. But it's the depression that I care about most.

So far it has helped a bit, I think, my perspective is improving and side-effects aren't too bad, I don't sleep but that's nothing new.

Life has lost all magic and I rely on compulsive behaviors to make me feel good, most aren't too healthy, and I'm fatigued and lazy since I can remember. So I wonder, would the SNRI behaviors of Wellbutrin be a great addition for me? The dopamine regulation seems like it's something I need, but I'm no expert, I was anti-anti-medication till just a month ago.

I'm willing to wait about 4 more weeks to see if citalopram gives my spark back, but I can't stop thinking about wellbutrin. Especially that they seem to cancel out each-others side-effects, seems like a godsend :D

steveo
26-04-13, 17:41
I personally wouldn't recommend taking both an SSRI and an SNRI. It's one or the other. There are medications that act on both neurotransmitters.

If you want more Nor-adrenaline in your life why not take L-Tyrosine which is an amino acid precursor to Noradrenaline. It's sold in most health food shops.

DiscontentOptimist
26-04-13, 17:57
Hey steveo thanks for your input. I thought L-tyrosine was for serotonin production? Either way, I have very little faith in supplements. I still have a bunch of rhodalia, sam-e, sj wort etc in my cupboard.

I've read a lot of people with depression only using this combo with great success, wellbutrin is commonly prescribed in addition to citalopram from what I've read. But wellbutrin alone is said to be not good for anxious people from what I read so far.

steveo
26-04-13, 20:26
L-tryptophan is serotonin production.