PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a fellow sufferer.

Jon Dimond
01-05-13, 11:27
Hi Everyone.

I stumbled across this website after looking into Anxiety and its symptoms. It looks to be a fantastic resource.

So a bit about me:

I'm a 31 year old guy, with a lovely fiance and a beautiful 1 year old son. I used to work as a local government officer in a job I hated, but now I'm a full time dad which is amazing, except I'm suffering from what seems to be a fairly acute anxiety.

About 2 years ago I started to become quite depressed with my job and it was causing me a lot of stress. I'd burst into tears in the office on a couple of occasions and was having great difficulty concentrating and stayinh awake. I've been fighting depression on and off for about 15 years, so it was nothing new really. What was new however was the physical symptoms that I started getting. I was used to the tiredness as insomnia and I are well aquainted, but I started to feel detached from myself and had periods of strange dizzyness etc. It was all quite worrying. I had the opportunity to give up my job and look after my boy when he was born, so as my partner earns more and I was so unhappy, I took that opportunity.

My son's birth was very stressful for my partner as he had to be delivered by c-section, all planned, but stressful none the less! I went into the theater with her, but started to feel very unwell as they were getting ready and had to leave. Over the next few weeks the lack of sleep and stress of a newborn seemed to cause more problems, I'd feel very unwell getting up in the night and often be unable to get back to sleep due to the dizzy/lightheaded feelings. I was pretty scared to be honest.