PDA

View Full Version : Obsessed about my neck/throat

AllIhaveisme
09-05-13, 16:37
As I said in another post, I'm new and I've had several lymph nodes swelling for the last 9 weeks. Since this started, I have developed an obsession about the nodes, which turned into an obsession about my neck. I'm constantly checking it and feeling it. To the point. I cause myself pain and stiffness and who knows.... maybe more nodes or bigger ones at least. I can't seem to stop. Now I have this click I hear and feel when I swallow. Its annoying and when I swallow a lot checking to see if its still there, it starts to get sore. I'm so tired of this, I just want this to go away!!!!!

anthrokid
10-05-13, 03:40
Hi there,

I'm in my fourth year studying psychology, and whilst my focus is youth and child psychology, I have ample experience myself in suffering from anxiery and panic, as well as having studied it extensively for the last 4 years of my life.

I used to have similar obsessions, but rather than my lymph nodes, I was paranoid about fever (silly, I know). To the point where I would take my temperature every ten minutes, you know, just in case it had changed dramatically from the other 100 times I'd taken it in that day, haha. What you're describing is an obsessive-compulsive symptom of anxiety. And you're right, it is hard to stop, expecially because we get ourselves so anxious that we feel like we HAVE to check it, just in case. This isn't considered too bad until it comes to the point where it affects you, which it sounds like it is given that you are distressed by it and tha you are causing yourself some extra pain and stiffness.