PDA

View Full Version : What do you do when you feel you've hit a dead end?

Lissa101
10-05-13, 11:52
I'm trying to pick myself up after a few really bad weeks but I'm finding it hard to be positive about the future right now. I've been suffering with this for about a year and had lots of ups and downs. I've tried two SSRI's (Prozac and Zoloft) which didn't really do much for me and I've been unable to access any kind of talking therapies.

At the moment I'm going through a major set-back. I think I could cope if it wasn't for the physical symptoms - dizzyness and weakness - which make me feel like I can't do anything. My finances are really bad which means that I can't take any time off (I'm a PhD student but I get paid a salary) and the fact that I know I don't have the option of a break is making me panic.

I'm just not sure where to go from here. I have the GP next Weds so maybe she'll suggest something but I always come out of the docs feeling worse rather than better. I'm just so sick and tired of this.

Thanks for reading xxx

inCOGnito
10-05-13, 14:14
Can you access the student counselling services?

Have you talked with your supervisors? As a phd you are entitled to leave. Generally its more flexible with uni. If you feel like you need time off then ask your supervisors for time off. It might help you if you are open with them.

For the physical symptoms have you tried selftherapy.org? It's a tehnique where you take your attention FULLY into the symptom. Taking your attention into it in this way allows the body to address it itself.

Lissa101
10-05-13, 21:51
Its finances mainly that is the problem. I can get time off but if it's more than a few weeks I won't have any income. I don't believe I'll get ESA and, even if I did, I wouldn't be able to survive on it. My mum is ill and lives at the other end of the country so I need to have the money to travel and see her every couple of months. Its a tough situation.