PDA

View Full Version : panic whilst in car driving / or passenger

minxlaura
26-05-13, 16:24
i hate this soooo much!!! I am a driver, passed my test bout 4 years ago now. I used to be scared of the big fast roads so stuck to local roads kinda thing surrounded by shops people walkin about etc.
but in the last year or so even that has become a problem. When i drive i just feel soooo horrible. I feel like i am gonna pass out .. i get all hot .. i cant seem to swallow or breathe properly and just feel weird and numb.. as soon as i get out the car i feel better so i KNOW its anxiety.
i hate it!!! puts me off driving, i have a lovely car but too scared to go in it most of the time.
also as a passanger i feel the same pretty much only not AS bad as i am not the one controlling the wheel!
i feel trapped and being claustrophic that doesnt help. I used to be fine .. but its gotten really bad now it upsets me :(
i wanna travel but i feel so scared i cant .
sobs*** anyone else get scared driving or being in car?? x

Snoodlester
26-05-13, 17:42
I used to love driving - motorways, whatever, then I 'felt funny' one day driving back from my parents and it's gone downhill ever since. I stopped driving on certain roads and even the ones I was ok on I've turned into a problem. I never really liked travelling - trains, coaches or buses and only in cars where I felt 'safe'. My anxiety's so bad I can't even do that now :( I get this overwhelming feeling of being trapped - its really terrifying :(

minxlaura
26-05-13, 19:09
we have exactly the same problems and feelings by the sound of it.
its soo horrible.
have you been getting any help for it ??
i avoid most times but I am SICK of ruining my life with these issues. hugs

Snoodlester
26-05-13, 20:08