PDA

View Full Version : Preston stag do

NE21 worrier
29-05-13, 20:57
Hello everyone,

First time in the last few days I have posted - but it has actually been a really good few days! :D

--

Just a bit of a background, for anyone reading who does not know: my anxiety tends to focus on me being out of my comfort zone - this is especially the case if I have travelled away from home. Also, if I have never done something before, I think there is no way I will be able to do it.

But, despite this lack of self-belief, there have been countless past occasions (driving tests, holidays, even a best man's speech) when I have gone through with it anyway, though I have usually subjected myself to significant and uncomfortable anticipatory anxiety (most notably, globus, chest tightness).

---

Last weekend was a prime example of an event to make me anxious: a stag do in Preston, and a night away from my home in Tyneside. I felt OK on Friday night so used the time to prepare myself well and get my bag packed. I am glad I did this as, on Saturday morning, I was far less comfortable - I was very shaky and had to evacuate my bowels twice in quick succession. Here we go again, I thought...

Nevertheless, I got myself onto the service bus into town where I met up with a party of friends. By the time, we were on our minibus to Preston, I was feeling far more settled - I was able to have a couple of bananas, a packet of crisps, and later a sandwich. This was a good sign as, usually when I am really anxious, my globus and the sensation of tightness in my chest/oesophagus means that the first thing to go is my appetite.

Before the evening in Preston, the lads planned to do Airsoft (similar to Paintball) - having never played shoot-'em-up games or been interested in that sort of thing, again this was exactly the sort of thing to make me anxious. I'll never be able to do that, I thought :shrug: so I decided not to pay in advance, and advised the stag/best man that I would not partake.