PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol and medication

bertiehobart
02-06-13, 11:30
Hi there everyone, this is my first time posting on nomorepanic.

I am 21 years old and started having relatively frequent panic attacks in confined spaces like buses and university seminar rooms about 8 or 9 months ago. I have since had to take the difficult decision to re-do my second year at university because i couldn't cope and hope to restart my second year this October.

My dilemma is this: My panic attacks and anxiety in the aforementioned situations have improved a little in the months since their onset but not much. I think I should probably take the sertraline I have been prescribed by my GP but know that not drinking will be a serious problem.

All of my friendships are largely based upon the shared ritual of going out and drinking, not necessarily in that order. This happens 1-3 times a week and is a very important part of my life. If I hadn't drank since having the panic attacks my friendships would have suffered greatly and I would also have been extremely bored, as well as having missed out on some incredible experiences. Drinking (as i often hear bandied about on this site) "one or two" drinks, to stay on the safe side with the medication, isn't really an option. It just doesn't work like that. I only ever drink (relatively) large amounts and when i'm going out, where drinking is necessary to have a good time.

So I have a pretty difficult decision to make here. Do I start taking the sertaline and drink any way, risking side effects and possible ineffectiveness of the drugs? Do I stop drinking, start taking the medication and lose most of the fun I have in my life for at least 6 months? Or do i carry on as I have been struggling with panic and anxiety?

Any thoughts and advice would be welcome here guys, I just don't know what to do.

Emphyrio
05-06-13, 06:31