PDA

View Full Version : Any reassurance

newdad
04-10-06, 13:15
Hi folks,

I'm new to this but feeling really desperate. I became a dad for the first time two months ago. My wife had a wee boy who is perfect in every way and very healthy. It was a planned pregnancy and my wife and I were both delighted.

My problem is almost too embarrassing to describe. We always struggled to settle on a boys name before the birth (we didn't know the sex), but agreed on my middle name (Mackenzie) which was also my grandmothers maiden name and has strong family connections. I was never 100% sure but my wife adores it, as do all my friends and family.

However from the moment he was born I have felt we have made a mistake for a variety of reasons and this has now developed to the extent that I have been off work for a month, am on medication, attending CBT and going to see a psychiatrist.

My worry is that I will always have these doubts and will not be able to fully bond with my son.

I suppose I'l looking for reassurance from anyone who has had anything like similar experience with overwhelming fixations, as I need to know they will go and I will be back to my normal self in the future.

I have had problems with anxiety/stress/depression in the past but never to this extent and nver requiring medical attention.

Thanks.

Lynnann
04-10-06, 14:03
Hi newdad,

I think with treatment you will get to a normal future! I think mackenzie is a great name it is also my grandmothers maiden name. I am sure his friends will shorten it anyway, know they did with my kids!! You will bond with your son it just takes a little time sometimes when we have other problems. Remember you have lots of time to bond with your son. A lifetime in fact. Talking of sons must go see mine!

Lynnann

hayles
04-10-06, 14:26
Hi and welcome.
I am no expert, but could it not be the name that is really causing all the anxiety, more like just the change in life style and the huge effect a baby has.