PDA

View Full Version : the other C word

Kasperhm
25-06-13, 14:26
Hey guys.
I feel horrible lately. I gave up smoking almost 2 months ago. I am 26 years old, and have never smoked full time. However, I have been smoking on and off and at social events for 7 years. Anyway, having quit the ciggies have made me feel very bad. My chest is tight and it can be hard to breathe as if I do not get enough oxygen. I visited dr. Google and came upon COPD and Emphysema. I went to the doc imediately and he listened to my lungs and said they were fine and that the gunk from the ciggies will clear up. However, for some reason I cant get the notion of suffering from that disease to leave my mind.
I cant bear the thought of dying young and leaving my family and especially my little brother behind. It drives me mad that I cant just find comfort in the doctors words. My rational self tells me that the symptoms I experience are normal for a smoking cessation, however my evil subconscious tells me that I am dying from this. :weep:

Shivmarie
25-06-13, 14:54
SNAP!! im an exact same situation!
i smoke on and off not in excess but recently i feel the same as you, my lungs have been sounded fine everytime i get them checked, nothing sinister but its my ribs and chest really playing up on me! i fear something sinister is going on but nobody will take me seriously.

Mr m anxious
25-06-13, 15:54
Trust the doc believe me they know what there talking out, listening to chest and x rays indicte lung issues is if there clear then your both fine.

Kasperhm
25-06-13, 16:39
Thanks for the replies.
Its nice to hear that I am not the only one feeling like this
I know that I should listen to the doctors word and just accept that my lungs sound clear and aren't broken by emphysema.
Do you guys also have anxiety related to that disease?

Shivmarie
25-06-13, 19:32
Yeah I fear lung cancer and blood clots x

Kasperhm
09-07-13, 16:15