PDA

View Full Version : Learn how to play an instrument

JoeM89
08-07-13, 19:19
I started learning the guitar around the same time I got diagnosed with anxiety/panic and it's helped me tremendously. It gives your mind something to really focus on and you get a real sense of self-worth and satisfaction when you learn how to play a new song! :)

Speranza
10-07-13, 05:07
I think that's how I got through my incredibly anxious childhood. I actually saw my piano as a friend. Sad but true! :)

cymraig_chris
05-08-13, 22:50
Any musical instrument is great, it doesn't matter whether you consider yourself competent or not, the only thing that matters is that you enjoy it.

Stormsky
05-08-13, 23:00
I've been playing guitar for 40 yrs!

cymraig_chris
05-08-13, 23:05
Guitar is my favourite too.

Edward_1980
08-08-13, 15:16
I'd love to take up piano and play "Julia's Theme" from EastEnders.

purgatory
08-08-13, 16:27
I brought a guitar last year I looked at it and put it away in a wardrobe :(

I keep on going to get it out but I'm not to sure I have a musical bone in my body.. Any advice on a good place online to learn the guitar

bagpuss75
08-08-13, 17:03
Great tip.
I play flute in a local concert band and find it really helpful to 'escape' from my head for a while. And I have some simply amazing friends in that band, who have helped no end.

mikejames
12-08-13, 09:49
hey any of you lot live in Leeds area - I do piano lessons mates rates for you guys - it is a great distraction xxxxxxxxxxx

Eyji1
14-08-13, 23:12
It has helped me tremendously playing the drums. It's both a good release of energy, it keeps my mind completely occupied and it's also pretty good exercise.

Granny Primark
15-08-13, 00:51
Ive always wanted to play the fiddle!:roflmao::roflmao::roflmao:
No seriously I think its a brill idea. My daughter played piano, cello and recorder. However ive got limited use of my write hand.

---------- Post added at 00:51 ---------- Previous post was at 00:50 ----------