PDA

View Full Version : Ongoing hair dye anxiety

almamatters
14-07-13, 13:11
I don't mind admitting I am a bit obsessed with hair dye allergy testing. I did another one yesterday, and the skin feels itchy but I don't know if this is from the dye or pollen or something else. Is it best to cover the area I am testing with a plaster does anyone know.?

Canadiana
14-07-13, 14:44
I honestly have no clue if you should be covering it? And I'm the same way with hair dye......I'm scared of having a severe allergic reaction! It's been a few months since I did mine, and it really needs it! It usually takes me a long while before I dye it, but as soon as I start applying it, I panic, and I've been known to wash it out immediately. So far I've been putting it off for about 2 months. Its in my head that if I do it, I will definitely have a reaction! I will add, I've never had a bad reaction, and I've been coloring my hair at home for 20 years....but things I've stupidly read make me terrified! Now I figure that even if I do a skin test, I will probably end up making myself itchy, then I will think its a reaction! So I guess I will leave my hair as it is :/ sorry that didn't answer your question, but you are not alone with a hair dye fear!

pinky2681
14-07-13, 15:20
I booked in at the hairdressers and I'm due to have it done in 2 days and I'm dreading it. Ive just put one of those tatoo testing kits on and I keep staring at it trying to see if I can 'feel' anything.

If your doing a skin test with dye then I'd leave it on a hr or so then rinse it off (like u would if it was on ur hair) if u leave dye on your skin for hours n hours it prob will itch but when you colour your hair you only leave it on for a hr max so u should do this for a test. Saying that this tatoo test I have on says to leave on 48 hours but its a diff style of testing x

almamatters
14-07-13, 16:07