PDA

View Full Version : Chest pain

mummyanxious
15-07-13, 13:39
I was just bending over cleaning something out and when I stood up I got this almighty squeezing pain in the left of my chest. Lasted a few seconds and took my breath away. Really frightened me but I tried to ignore and carry on. Then When I sat down ( admittedly in a crunched up position) it felt uncomfortable just there where the pain had been. Like it was restricting my chest. It hurts when I breathe in as well :(

SarahH
15-07-13, 13:50
Sounds like a trapped rib muscle to me. I do it all the time.
Are you experiencing Pains it your arms,neck, side of face,crushing/tightening feelings in you chest? (symptoms of a heart attack)

I am not a Doctor so you could call your surgery and ask to speak to the on call Dr for advice......it's OK to seek reassurance

Sarah

Speranza
15-07-13, 13:52
What Sarah said. I expect it is ok but that is one symptom doctors would prefer you checked out. :hugs:

mummyanxious
15-07-13, 13:53
No other symptoms at all no, heart rate normal as well.
Can your ribs really do this? It was like a severe shock, ouch!

Speranza
15-07-13, 14:39
Yes they can!! Especially if you have been cleaning and maybe straining to reach things at awkward angles. Hurts like billy-oh. I'd say you are now into 'doing pretty well if it was a heart attack' territory (how I measure my various things!!). ;)

Wouldn't harm to get it checked though. x

nomorepanic
15-07-13, 15:22
You can dislodge a rib - I have done this and the doctor did something to put it back and there was a crack when he did it. This gave me terrible chest pain at the time

If it gets no better then maybe see the doc

mummyanxious
15-07-13, 15:23
Well I'm still here and have completed the school run so I think I'm safe for now. I have a dr app on weds so I will mention it then. Any time I've had something I'm the same region before they've just said muscles though :(

Freaked
15-07-13, 15:39