PDA

View Full Version : Worried about tetanus, should I go to a&e?

GirlAfraid23
18-07-13, 14:59
Ok so was outside today in the school playground (I work in a school) and wearing sandals. As I was walking along, something sharp penetrated my big toe. It stung for a few seconds and when I looked down at my foot, there was a pinprick cut on my toe which was bleeding enough to make a small patch in my shoe.
I'm not sure what it was, a piece of bark or a piece of wood or something.

I'm worried it had animal feces or animal saliva on it and therefore got into my body. Should I go to a&e or doctors?

KeeKee
18-07-13, 15:55
Sounds like wasp sting.
I didn't get a tetanus when I was stung and I was walking bare foot for hours after.
However if you are worried then maybe go to walk-in centre? I doubt they'd just give you a tetanus upon request but if you say you saw rusty nails or something lying on the ground then maybe they would?

GirlAfraid23
18-07-13, 16:05
I didn't see rusty nails, I think it was a piece of sharp bark or something, I did check the ground afterwards and couldn't see much...I'm getting myself into a panic now :(

joelhall
18-07-13, 16:09
If you're worried call your GP surgery, although you're no doubt covered against tetanus. If it's a large wound and looks inflamed they may give you antibiotics.

GirlAfraid23
18-07-13, 16:10
It's not a large wound, it's a a tiny pin prick one.
I'm worried something infectious got inside me. It is not bleeding anymore.

KeeKee
18-07-13, 16:12
Sorry I just meant in case they suspected an insect bite as I doubt theyd give you a tetanus for one, whereas if you said there were rusty nails they may. I truly think it's nothing to worry about but I do know they sting! And for a while too.

GirlAfraid23
18-07-13, 16:14