PDA

View Full Version : I want his attitude to health!!

debbsi
18-07-13, 21:54
Im sick of my health anxiety. I try hard to overcome it, mindfulness is really helping but wish I was like others who seem to be able to cope with anything.
I work in a hospital and today I worked with a man who has had several serious health problems, his attitude is - 'well I cant do anything about it - so I just get on with it' now why cant I be like that? What a wonderful man - I was so in awe of his outlook, and its suprising just how many patients I see who are like that. Its quite rare in fact that I see someone who is the nervous wreck that I would be in their shoes.

He really made me look at myself. My current worry is fueled by the recent emphasis on lung cancer. I had a virus/cough/sore throat a few weeks ago, it went after 2 weeks then 2 weeks later the cough started again. Now I really think about it Im sure its GORD causing me to keep clearing my throat and feeling like theres something to be coughed up (sorry - TMI), and Ive started taking some ranitadine to help. Im only 41 and never smoked and only cough about 10 times a day. Problem is I freaked and went to the gp for reassurance. I just wanted him to put my mind at rest, but cos I mentioned that cough for more than 3 weeks ad hes sending me for a chest xray - which has increased my anxiety. Part of me thinks if the coughs gone by monday im not going grrrr, wish I wasnt like this. I need to learn from my patients!!

Peru83
18-07-13, 22:19
Hi Debbsi,

I think since my first PA I have managed to convince myself of ALLL SORTS! It's became a bit of a running joke with my my husband (in a nice way ofc, as he knows/understands how I am).