PDA

View Full Version : Suddenly anxious about IBS

emlica
24-07-13, 13:11
Hi everyone,

I know we're not meant to seek medical advice here, so I guess I'm just wanting to hear some other people's experiences and maybe some 'how to chill out about it' type advice as well! I'm new to the forum, mainly because I'm completely new to having this type of anxiety. I guess I've always been inclined to be a bit stressy about things, but this is the first time it's been quite so... all-consuming, I guess. Sorry this is long, but I think just getting it off my chest is probably helping!

I had a nasty (downwards!) tummy bug that started about a month ago. It lasted a good five days, which is longer than any tummy bug I've had before. Since then - so 3+ weeks - my bowel habits have not gone back to normal. My doctor - who I've now seen twice about it - says that for some people it can take "a couple of months" for the bowels to return to normal, and she doesn't seem unduly concerned. But I can't convince myself to not be concerned! I have just had some blood tests done (results at the end of the week), but I got the impression she ordered them more for my peace of mind than because she thought they'd show something! She says it sounds like a bit of mild IBS after the gastroenteritis, but the blood tests will rule out anything else.

My symptoms are:
- what I think is an excess of gas being produced in my digestive system, leading to (again, what I assume are) gas-related 'twinges'. They seem to happen mostly (but not exclusively) in the right side of my abdomen. Interestingly (?), when I had the bug, it was the right side of my abdomen that felt worst. It's discomfort rather than pain, and it's not all the time by any means.