PDA

View Full Version : To face them or not to face them?

puddingduck
26-07-13, 22:43
Hey guys, I'm hoping to get your opinions/advice on a situation. I'm a university student actively trying to work on my social anxiety and at the moment I am faced with a social dilemma.

There's a society that I'm a member of that I really want to be an active part of. About a month ago I had a run in with 3 of the main people in it because they were being extremely exclusive and rude and I called them out on it and they apologise (and all this took place online). Now they're planning a get-together that started out as a coffee social and turned into going to one of those people's house and eating/watching films. All 3 of those people will be there, and maybe 1 or 2 other people that I vaguely know. I'm feeling very anxious about facing them in person, being in one of their homes, and having it be socially awkward. Half of me wants to be the bigger person and go support the society, and the other half is terrified and never wants to see them again.

My issue is that I don't know if it's better to try to face them or to avoid the situation because it is potentially a negative one. I know that learning to face and enjoy scary social is a good thing, but is it still good if they involve specific people who give you negative feelings? What do you guys think?

Stormsky
26-07-13, 22:52
Don't avoid them...don't give them that power over you.
The last issue was delt with, so go along with clean slate attitude.
Don't miss out in having some fun.

gypcyg
27-07-13, 00:29
If it was dealt with amicably and with good manners then you should go and introduce yourself with a smile. If they "act up" then you can calmly tell them that you think they are out of order and leave - but I'm guessing since they apologised that they will go out of their way to make everyone feel included.

flossie
27-07-13, 08:46