PDA

View Full Version : Fear of harming people I love?

louzia
28-07-13, 23:22
Hi,
I'm new to this, sorry If it's posted in the wrong place? I'll start by introducing myself a little bit. I'm a 22 year old woman who is about to start a Law degree. Throughout my teens I bunked school as I got in with a bit of a bad crowd, hence why I'm starting uni now rather than when I was 18! I'm not totally sure when it all started, but somewhere over the past few years as I've started to sort my life out, I've become a bit weird (I think so anyway). I seem to have developed various OCD's (haven't been diagnosed), such as, I can only eat if I sit at the end of the table, from a small plate - however I often can't finish my food as I panic about the situation and can't swallow. Also, I count EVERYTHING! I use the counting to answer questions in my head, for example, odd numbers will always be a yes and even a no. I panic in shops, restaurants, bars, one to one conversations (with everyone but my boyfriend and parents) and I cannot sleep as night until I've ran the dust-buster around my room in case there are bugs somewhere. All this is bad enough, however, the other day and randomly found myself thinking about slitting my boyfriend's throat. I have been with him for almost 4 years, I love him with all my heart and I don't know why I would think that?! I also found myself thinking about harming my sister (in a sexual way). Again, I love her to pieces, both these things really upset me. I'm disgusted with myself, I've never had any thoughts of this nature before. I would never EVER act on either or these thoughts and I'm so upset that they even popped into my head, I avoid anything sharp and try to avoid my sister as much as possible as I'm so scared. I know I should probably see someone but I've tried before and I miss appointments because I can' face going, the idea of counselling make me panic and usually feel really sick. What can I do? I'm not a sick person, I hate myself for