PDA

View Full Version : New job and managed to work a full day!

PunkyFish
01-08-13, 20:46
Hi everyone :D

I joined this forum about a year or so ago after my anxiety got to a point where it began to ruin my life and I just wanted to share my story. I started getting anxiety/panic attacks with the odd phase of depression here and there when I started University a few years ago. It got to the point where my anxiety was bad but I was able to cope with it. I graduated from University last year and my anxiety got to a point where it began to ruin my life. I worried about everything and everyone and was having constant panic attacks/crying/rapid heart beat ect. I honestly thought my life would never get better. I also had the added pressure of having to find a full time job and the pressure of going to interviews was getting to me.

My parents ended up forcing me to go to the doctors and I was put on med's which helped. I then got a part time job for six months which helped a lot with my anxiety and life began to improve. A few months ago I had to leave my job due to staff cutbacks which flared up my old anxious thoughts again. I then started applying for jobs and had about six interviews in a month and got rejected for all of them which again added to my anxiety. However a week ago I went to an interview for a full time office job and was offered the job a day later. The day before I started my new job I was a wreck with nerves. I could not eat and was even considering not going in. I wasn't even sure if I could cope working a full day as I had been out of work for a few months.