PDA

View Full Version : Best Medication For Anxiety?

jayjoe18
09-08-13, 18:19
Sorry everyone, messed up the other post, anyway....

I know there isn't a one size fits all rule with medications or one wonder drug that works for everyone & that one drug may work for one person but not another, but I just wanted to know what medication works/worked best for your anxiety? In particular GAD, SA, Panic, Phobias etc.

I know there's the medication section of the forum I could look under and see which drug is most popular but that just shows which is prescribed most, I really want to know which one is most effective/which one works the best.

My anxiety is really crippling now, I've had enough, but I want to make sure I do my research before heading to the doctors office so I have some knowledge behind me and can make the right decision with my doctor.

I've put a poll up to make it easier (reason why I messed up the last post :roflmao:) adding the main ones that I know of, any help would be great.

Thanks in advance x

Annie0904
09-08-13, 20:01
Like you said, what works for one person doesn't always work for another so it is hard to say which one is the best. I don't take any of the ones you have listed. The only ones that work for me are tricylics and I take Dosulepin.

flossie
09-08-13, 20:13
There is no best medication for anxiety. We each have different needs and react in our own way to meds.
You really cannot decide which drug you take based on a poll or what works for other people.

btw, the drug I take is not in your list and it works well for me.

bernie1977
09-08-13, 20:27
I don't take any of the ones on your list as I can't tolerate SSRI/SNRI meds, I'm on Trazodone which is a tricyclic

gregcool
09-08-13, 21:43
Im on 250ml trazadone at night and 5 mg olanzipine at night.both give me a good night sleep and helps my anxiety.

Lilac58
09-08-13, 22:01
For me Quetiapine was the thing (added on to Citalopram) that made a huge difference to my anxiety.

Dazza123