PDA

View Full Version : Does pregabalin make you stupid?

shedrain
11-08-13, 12:16
Hi All,

I'm new to pregabalin.... 4 days in at 2x 25mg/day. Due to be increased over time. Taking on top of 112.5mg venlafaxine.

Talking to my pdoc and gp, I think they are thinking that this will be a long term med for me to manage my GAD.

My question is - does pregabalin make you stupid over time? Something to do with glutamate in the brain?

Has anybody who has been on this for a while noticed any dulling of their mental faculties??

Thanks x

Edward_1980
11-08-13, 12:27
Hi,

I've been on it for nearly a year now and I can tell you that it doesn't dull your mental faculties. Don't worry.

shedrain
11-08-13, 12:32
Hi,

I've been on it for nearly a year now and I can tell you that it doesn't dull your mental faculties. Don't worry.

Brilliant :yesyes:

How has it been for you?

SarahH
11-08-13, 15:06
i think it is different for everyone, i was stupid before anyway:)
Seriously, I think sometimes I struggle for words mid-sentence when I am talking and lose my thread about what I was saying. however, at my age and being a woman it's probably something menopausal.

I'm not registered with Mensa so I am not bothered by losing a bit of brain power if it gets rid of my anxiety.

Sarah

hanshan
12-08-13, 11:04
I work in tertiary teaching, and I can't say I've noticed it making me any more stupid than I already am.

I can say that it has reduced those times when I was struck with anxiety in the middle of teaching or dealing with people - that has made a big improvement in how I can organise my thoughts in those moments.

shedrain
12-08-13, 20:05
I work in tertiary teaching, and I can't say I've noticed it making me any more stupid than I already am.

I can say that it has reduced those times when I was struck with anxiety in the middle of teaching or dealing with people - that has made a big improvement in how I can organise my thoughts in those moments.

Hi Hanshan.