PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety - Kidney Cancer

Prefuse76
12-08-13, 20:48
Hi All,

I am a newbie here, I have had ongoing health anxiety for some years now which started off with an incredible fear of flying! I have since gotten over that specific fear for the most part, but I have had some health anxiety issues over the years which have now been magnified now that I have two small children.

Last year I was diagnosed with kidney stones because I had been having left flank pain that radiated from front to back etc, they were small stones, 2 x 3mm. However my doc just told me that I should pass them and besides she couldn't do anything for me as I was pregnant with my 2nd child. My son was born in April and all through the pregnancy I had no problem with the stones what so ever, infact I think the pain when away, maybe I passed them I have no idea!

Anyway several weeks ago the pain started up again, the exact same type of pain, I went back to the doc she said she could send me for a CT this time. So now I am waiting for the results, but unfortunately I went onto google, and kidney tumour symptoms are pretty similar to kidney stone symptoms, I know this was a huge mistake and I am totally freaking out! I keep having visions of my kids growing up without a mother, I think I really need to look into this CBT.
thanks for listening

Munchlet
12-08-13, 20:57
Hi

I've recently been having CBT for my health anxiety and one of the things it's been teaching me is with HA we always think symptoms are the most uncommon scenario rather than the far more likely.

Think about kidney stones and if you are anything like me you probably know a few people who have had them yourself included but do you know anyone who has had kidney cancer?

I certainly don't but as I say I know a few people who have had kidney stones and once you've had them they do tend to reoccur.