PDA

View Full Version : Newbe :-)

SteviePsteve
16-08-13, 20:46
Hi Everyone,

Hope your all having a non anxious day today :)

I'm new to this fab site so hopefully I'll learn a lot from it and from you guys too.
My situation as I like to call it is that I have huge fears of panic attacks and the panic sensations and to add insult to injury there's a bit of agoraphobia thrown in too.
I've had anxieties for most of my life but that didn't affect me at a young age, this all started in my 20's, was put on loads of meds and xanax too (which I got very very addicted to) Anyways, went into rehab to get off the meds back in 2008 and succeeded but must admit I am now back on meds but this time under strict observation where I will discuss with my doc as he knows my rehab time and knows I don't want to go down that road again.
The meds I'm on now are Seroxat 20mg's 1/day and just started Lyrica 50mg's 2/day. I've been on Seroxat since late last year and they seem to have made me less anxious :D so we'll see how the Lyrica does.
I've tried Hypnotherapy, Acupuncture, Mindfulness CBT, Homeopathy, Natural Remedies but last year I did CBT for the second time and I must say that tought me loads because the CBT I did before wasn't specifically for PDA (panic disorder and agoraphobia).
Anyways, I won't harp on and on....... sooooo.... bascially my situation is fear of fear and those anxious thoughts, fear of panic attacks and the panic sensations, hence, I won't go too far from my house. Even today me and my missus went to go for lunch at a restaurant only down the road from our house and I had to sit in the car for ages then when I got out of the car I got to the top of the stairs in the restaurant and waited there for a while while all these images of panic went through my head, anyways, we ended up leaving :mad:I was so disappointed in myself.
Why is it so difficult to put into practice with what we/I learned from CBT, books etc? I reckon it's a phobia of panic attacks with me.