PDA

View Full Version : New and Lustral

mgw
17-08-13, 20:47
Hi, I'm new to this site, so hope Im posting in the right place.
I have recently been prescribed Lustral Sertraline 50mg tablets to be taken daily for Anxiety, OCD and depression.
I haven't taken meds before - Have had a few experiences of valium which I found fine but am new to this sort of stuff.
I am really worried about taking meds in general, an have a lot of anxiety about this alone. When prescribed them the doctor didn't really give me any info of what to expect so I would be really greatful if anyone could answer some of my questions.
I am interested in knowing what the side effects are like? Do the benefits outweigh the bad points?
Also I want to know how much of a lifestyle change this will be. In terms of how addictive this is, how hard it is to come off them etc. Also I'm a student.. so not drinking will be hard! Is drinking not good whilst on this?
I'm really scared about taking them, and I don't know if its the right thing to do- I feel as if I really need to take the first steps into sorting myself out but the idea of taking them create even more anxiety for me :(.

If anyone has any stories of experience, or views or anything that could help me it would be VERRYY much appreciated!

Sparkle1984
18-08-13, 13:51
Welcome to the forums. I've never taken this particular medication but I thought I'd reply seeing as no one else has. Sertraline is one of the SSRI medications which are used for depression and anxiety. I'm currently on citalopram which is another SSRI, so it's very similar. I've found it very helpful.