PDA

View Full Version : Everyone here - you're all most probably suffering with gluten intolerance

shakey1961
18-08-13, 07:15
Hi.

The more I read about peoples problems on here the more I'm truly convinced people with anxiety are most likely to be suffering with stomach problems - namely gluten intolerance.

Dizziness, numbness in limbs and fingers, anxiety, panic, blood sugar problems, brain fog, can't concentrate, depression, mood swings... the list goes on and on.

I'm no expert, but I am getting better and I'm realising that there are a lot of people with anxiety linked to problems with digestion.

On a recent thread someone says their doctor says the "Mind is connected to the stomach". I would say the reverse is true, the "Stomach is connected to the mind."

Gluten problems cause you to not get the nutrients and vitamins you need for the body to run efficiently. Since coming off gluten for the past 2 years I am calmer and I don't get anxious. I'm not taking deep breaths and "sighing" all the time. I can't remember the last time I had a panic attack and I'm going on trains which is something I would never have attempted even 3 years ago.

I would be very interested in a mass experiment for people to avoid gluten and see if their symptoms improve, have a Coeliac disease test, or see their GP about gluten problems.

Anyone else had similar observations?

---------- Post added at 07:15 ---------- Previous post was at 07:15 ----------

Oh, and people, don't stop taking any medication you've been prescribed, that wouldn't be wise.

almamatters
18-08-13, 07:20
I have considered this in the past and have worried about allergy and intolerance issues being the cause of anxiety, but how do I get tested for this? I doubt my GP would be interested in testing me as they think I have had enough tests . Would a colonoscopy show any signs of this as I had one of these last year which was ok.

---------- Post added at 07:20 ---------- Previous post was at 07:18 ----------