PDA

View Full Version : Sensory Defensiveness as a Result of Anxiety

JoyInTheMorning
18-08-13, 22:09
Hello, my name is Nicole and I am relatively new to No More Panic. I suffer from severe chronic anxiety and have for several years. Lately, I've experienced some things that have made me more anxious and depressed than usual. On an emotional level, this is causing me to feel pretty inadequate--as though I don't amount to anything, and I only make those around me angry. I know that's not true, but you know how it goes...

On a physical level, I'm feeling extremely hypersensitive to environmental stimuli--sounds especially, but also tastes and smells. This has been a very recent development--within the past few years--and I attribute iti directly to anxiety, not any underlying condition. I'm usually a very social person, but when I get this sensitive, I don't like anyone in my personal space unless I know to expect it. I'm finding that everything hurts my ears and causes my heart rate to increase, or simply exhausts me. Sometimes, I get quite breathless when I'm exposed to sudden noise or a spontaneous change in my immediate plans. Examples: the kitchen timer, someone crinkling cellophane a few feet from me, anyone speaking above an extremely quiet and carefully-modulated tone, a distant radio, the television even when on mute, the ringing of the telephone... Now, if I'm controlling the noises, it's fine--music, a humidifier, a timer that I set... anything goes.