PDA

View Full Version : Advice please!

Coconut22
20-08-13, 20:41
Hello!

I'm a newbie so apologies if I'm in the wrong forum! I wondered if any of you had any advice/words of wisdom!

About 4 years ago I started suffering from panic attacks, which took over my life. I went to CBT and gradually built up my confidence until I only had panic attacks in claustrophobic situations (trains, lifts, busy shopping centres, etc, basically anywhere with no escape!), but I avoided them and carried on with life as 'normally' as possible!

I really feel like I've come a long way and am have achieved loads, especially at work, a big contrast to my mum practically pushing me out of the car to even go to work 4 years ago!

However, my friend is getting married in Italy next week and has asked me to be bridesmaid. The thought of sitting in a tin can in the sky for 2.5 hours fills me with dread (I'm not scared of flying, just wanting to get out and having a panic attack because I feel trapped) , and also being that far away from home, I'm worried I'll feel uncomfortable for the whole trip as the furthest I've been in 5 years is Cornwall! I went to my GP who prescribed citalopram which has helped a bit - I've managed 3 train journeys and a lift :-) he also suggested valium on the flight which I've never taken.

I just wanted to know am I best to just try doing it with a large glass of vino, but if I need to take valium during the flight as well will they react? I'm hoping not to take it, just have it as a safety blanket in my bag! Can anyone recommend any good relaxation methods/CDs/books to use on the plane? And has anyone felt the same as me but done it anyway? I really don't want to let my friend down but I feel so anxious I don't know how I'm going to do it :-(

Brandy1970
21-08-13, 08:20
Hi I am new to this as well and having really bad panic attacks I am starting cbt therapy soon I just wanted to ask you does it work that's hunny :D xxx