PDA

View Full Version : Twitching legs als?

Amylou29
24-08-13, 20:54
Hi, I have just joined and would be very great full for some help, I've been having muscle twitching in my legs coming up to 3 months, I have it all over but mainly in my calves and thighs, it is pretty constant. For the last 3 wells or so my thighs have become very stiff and sore when walking, my left hand also feels funny but I'm not sure how, I've been doing all the strength tests and I'm not weak that I can notice, my thighs feel like they are constantly vibrating. I cough when I eat but I do have post nasal drip, I went to see my gp and he said he thinks its bfs and anxiety related, I a big worrier when it comes to my health, he ran blood work- all ok and doesn't think I need further testing, I am absolutely petrified I have als, any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you x

twelveoclock
24-08-13, 21:46
I am no doctor but the twitching is very likely due to stress and worrying. I get twitches all the time in my legs, arms and face. The feeling in your left again might perhaps be due to your constant worrying. Stress can cause a lot of stuff to your body physically.

Amylou29
25-08-13, 09:56
Thank you for your reply, do you get stiff, aching legs too?

twelveoclock
25-08-13, 10:57
When I exercise, yes. I'm not very active but will do a little workout once every week and it always gives me achy and stiff legs.
Do you walk or run a lot? Maybe you just need rest. For ALS or MND I believe it becomes gradually impossible to use legs and muscles etc. You just have a constant discomfort right? so it's likely you're very tired.

Speranza
25-08-13, 11:07
Hi, my Dad had MND and I am sure your symptoms sound more anxiety-related. Hugs to you. Gill xx

purgatory
25-08-13, 12:04
Hi,

My Calf muscles are in constant twitch or medical term fasciculations and I have had the whole I have got ALS fear and that was near on 3 years and I am still going strong.