PDA

View Full Version : scared new member

carlin
03-07-04, 20:45
Hi, my name is Jean. I.m 49 years old - happily married with 4 children. Have suffered with panic for appx. 15 years good times and bad. Now as I approach the menopause things have gone so bad. Feelings of terror on waking and when it gets hold I cannot control myself, want to scream and shout, open windows and escape. Going on holls in 2 weeks, do not think I can cope, so scared of everything, need support of likeminded people, sorry to go on so much

Lizzy
03-07-04, 21:44
Hi Jean
I know EXACTLY how you feel it could have been me writing it. Have you sought medical help? I can't really advise you because I'm not a professional. Just wanted to let you know there is someone out there who knows what you are going through. I know you will get a lot of support from the people on this web site so hang on in there. Thinking of you Love Liz[:X]

Meg
03-07-04, 22:05
Hi Jean,

Welcome . Do check out First Steps to overcoming Panic and Anxiety (http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=942) and see if you can apply anything from there .

Do you think this is hormonally driven ? Have you noticed a pattern or trend in the past

You write - I cannot control myself, want to scream and shout, open windows and escape.
How much of this have you ever done ?

Currently what do you do when this happens to help yourself ?

Where are you off for your holidays ?

We are here for you, to help get you through this tough phase in your life. It will pass just as the others have done.

Meg

'There can only be true courage when first there is genuine fear'

Dr.David Livingstone

Caz Fab Pants
03-07-04, 22:46
Hi Jean,

I'm sorry to hear you're feeling so awful and wanted to say that I'm sure these feelings are being made worse by your hormones. I say this because I have always been much worse during pregnancy when hormones are all over the place, (similar to menopause?)