PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm a new member

bearcrazy
24-10-06, 13:51
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to the forum having been diagnosed with GAD yesterday. Hooray, I know whats wrong and it's not my fault. I'm not weak or a failure!! I have been seeing my GP, counsellors, psychologists for the last 2 years having had a 'breakdown'. I have been treated for clinical depression on and off (more on) for the last 30 years, and have had 2 recent long term absences of 4 months and 7 months in the last 2 years. I've been told it is stress related, I'm a teacher! I am on a very high level of seroxat, 60mg daily, and have felt lower and lower, not coping with everyday life. Now I know I have Gad I feel tonz better. ITS NOT MY FAULT! I feel liberated. Has anyone else had similar experiences?

hayles
24-10-06, 14:01
No i havent but just wanted to say hi and welcome.

Hay x

bearcrazy
24-10-06, 14:08
Thanx hayles, I must sound crazy being glad that I have a condition like GAD, but just knowing it has a name and I cant help having it has been a relief. I'm not belittling the condition because I have been very ill and have felt at times as if noone could help, coz I couldn't help my self, and have had suicidal thoughts. Now I know I can fight!!!

yorkylover
24-10-06, 14:54
Hi and welcome,you must be so relieved knowing you actually have something.[Yeah!];).You will get some great support here.
Take care

Ellen XX

bearcrazy
24-10-06, 14:56
thanx Ellen. HOPE i CAN GIVE SUPPORT TOO.

lainey
24-10-06, 17:38
Hi there and welcomre to the forum
So glad you have had a positive diagnosis , it's amazing how the mind works isn't it, glad you are feeling better.

Take care

Elaine x

clickaway
24-10-06, 18:37
Hi,

Glad you found us :)

Ray

http://www.anxietyrelease.org.uk/

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance, I hope you dance.
~Mark Sanders and Tia Sillers

honeybee3939
24-10-06, 19:04
Hi