PDA

View Full Version : Hope for those starting Citalopram

fruit-cake
16-09-13, 13:02
Hi everyone, newbie here!

I feel compelled to post here to give hope and reassurance to anyone who has recently been prescribed Citalopram.

I was diagnosed with GAD and depression aged 19 and prescribed 20mg Citalopram. I went home, spent about 24 hours obsessively reading posts on the internet about horrific side effects and decided not to get the prescription filled, believing I would rather cope with this on my own.

Fast-forward 7 years, my GAD particularly has escalated and now includes panic disorder. I often feel utterly depressed and the GAD has taken over my life to the point I can no longer even go to a supermarket or shopping centre, never mind public transport or planes.

At the end of my tether I booked a private counsellor and visited my new GP (have moved since the last diagnosis). He prescribed me with 20mg Citalopram again, and 120mg Propranolol for the physical symptoms (racing heart etc).

Again, I came home and did my research, slowly becoming more terrified of the side effects the more I read. I almost threw the prescription in the bin again, but realised I will never break this cycle if I don't even try.

I am now on day 8, and other than a little teeth clenching in the first hour or so after taking the pill, the only side effect I've had is trouble sleeping, which has improved steadily as the week has gone on. I already feel less anxious and even went to a supermarket on my own at the weekend!

Please do not be put off by horror stories, I know that side effects do occur in some people, but you are more likely to hear from people who have had side effects than those who haven't. Give it a try!

Thanks and good luck! :yesyes:

Jx

xvolatileheart
16-09-13, 13:07
Thanks for your words of encouragement. I currently have a pack of citalopram sitting by my bed that I've been too scared to start. Do you take it in the morning or evening?

fruit-cake