PDA

View Full Version : White cell worry - again!!! Help!

JustJules
17-09-13, 10:52
Have recently had abdomen ultrasounds to cover ovarian cancer, kidneys, liver, bladder etc as a result of white cells in urine and traces of blood - all clear and just told me that some people have white cells from time to time and nothing to worry about....

At the time, my a young colleague at work reassured me that he had had them and it was nothing but he's just now been diagnosed with testicular cancer!!! So I'm now panicking to the point of hysteria thinking OMG, it started with the white cells (something he thinks too!).

Now my fear is what they have missed and what is happening inside me that I'm now worrying about!

God, this anxiety never ceases - sick of it....

katesa
17-09-13, 11:45
Hi love

I am far from a doctor, however I have recently been told by someone more qualified than me that although some cancers can cause problems with platelets etc, white cells are usually not indicative of it. White blood cells fight things in our bodies - the problem with cancer is that our bodies don't recognise it as something to fight so therefore doesn't usually raise the white blood cell count.

I was actually gutted to hear that as I was wanting reassurance that a normal count means I'm fine but my bad news might be your good news :-)

JustJules
17-09-13, 11:49
Thanks Katesa - that's quite reassuring but I can understand your worry too. I think we profess to know too much medically sometimes without the hard facts - probably due to the dreaded 'Dr Google' and then get ourselves all worked up.

I hope you are okay x

katesa
17-09-13, 11:52
I'm ok chick - going through my own round of illogical panic :-D