PDA

View Full Version : Support Needed!!

Mell1988
06-07-04, 12:19
Hello,

I have been battling anxiety and depression for at least 2 years now related to my son (who is 2.5).

When he was born we had some health issues with him that took a while to resolve but at the time they were very worrying and I'm sure I was suffering from PND which didn't help!

Basically since then I am so anxious about him it's unbelievable. I am convinced he has some serious illness that has gone undetected, despite reassurances from several doctors and of course family members that he seems a fine and happy little boy. He even had a test for a chronic illness on my insistance even though the doctors didn't think it was a possibility which came back negative yet I am still being plagued by the thoughts that the test was wrong or that they have missed something.

However, despite the fact that I can see he is happy and doesn't act like a sick child - I have this horrible gut wrenching feeling that he may have something bad. It has got so bad that I have been looking on the internet for a long time now, searching for symptoms that he has (sometimes very loose symptoms) and as I'm sure you can all appreciate you can easily link from a relatively "innocent" symptom to a serious disease fairly quickly. This has exaggerated my anxiety so I am trying now not to use the internet for health issues for my son anymore as it seems pointless (I am hoping I can use it to help me which was what my doctor suggested as he said distraction would be the best way to handle this).

If I read something that reassures me on the internet I can't leave it alone at that, I just keep looking and I will eventually find something that upsets me and convince myself it's true and he is ill.

I am probably not explaining this well but to give you an example (if anyone is still reading!). If my son coughs for a while there could be many reasons -

1. Slight cold
2. Allergy (my son is very allergy prone)