PDA

View Full Version : Hello...again.

debs71
23-09-13, 12:05
Hi,

My name's Debs, and I have just joined NMP after a long time away.

I left a while back after feeling the time was right for me to try things alone, as I felt pretty stable with stuff, and wanted to move on a bit, but now regret that move as I always found the site such a support.

I had depression and anxiety/panic attacks which resulted in a breakdown 9 years ago. I had 18 weeks of counselling and was on and off Citalopram for several years, until I was able to wean myself off it (I'm a nurse by profession) 2 years ago. Since then I have been pretty much ok, with just the odd panic now and then, but I had found ways of dealing them myself - deep breathing, distraction methods, etc.

I gave up nursing in 2009 after a long period of being unhappy and stressed in the job. The straw that broke the camel's back was when I passed out whilst on shift one morning, which I now know was anxiety driven through hyperventilation. (Unfortunately, I have a tendency to pass out with severe panic attacks. ) It was the hardest decision to make to leave nursing, but I just couldn't do it anymore, and decided to try to get happy.

Since then I have been working for myself, selling clothing online, and I honestly love what I do, but I now find my anxiety back with a vengeance, and I am terrified as I was before my breakdown.

I have had a period of feeling just generally worried about stupid stuff - mostly health worries which I know in my head are irrational to worry about, worries about my families welfare, worries about life in general - money, decisions I make, etc, and this has now developed back into first palpitations and breathlessness again, and now the 'mental stuff' - feeling spaced out, depersonalisation/derealization, edgy, etc.