PDA

View Full Version : Hit the top of my head

itzxsarah
24-09-13, 00:18
Hi! I was bent down trying to plug something in to my outlet when I stood up and hit the top of my head pretty hard on the corner of my shelf. The hit was the top front kind of near my hairline. I didn't feel dizzy or lose consciousness, I just kind of stood there for a moment clutching my head in pain, and sat down for a bit. I still don't have any strange symptoms other than stinging pain from where I hit it, and a little headache. The problem is, I've heard a concussion sometimes doesn't cause any symptoms. It's pretty late, and I'm ready to go to bed, but I'm afraid of the dangers of sleeping with a potential concussion. Do you think the way I hit my head is enough to give me one? I can't exactly go to anyone to ask to monitor me, since I'm studying abroad in a different country.

Speranza
24-09-13, 00:33
Hi! No I think you will be fine, I have hit the exact same spot and had the exact same panicky thoughts! You have hurt your head but you haven't damaged your brain in all probablility.

Just be aware that when you get into bed you may well begin to 'feel' symptoms. Either take a book ar visualise a holiday you had when you felt wonderfully relaxed. See the sea, hear the waves... that type of thing.I'm pretty sure you would know by now if you were going to get concussion. You would have a bad headache in the meantime.

debs71
24-09-13, 13:13
Hi,

Ouch...I know how that hurts so much when you do that (done it myself) A few years ago, I misjudged the height and whacked my head on the roof of a golf cart of all things, lol. I have never experienced a whack like it, and had a huge lump and bruise in the same place as yours, but I was fine.