PDA

View Full Version : Work causes my anxiety

Jenwales
25-09-13, 15:31
Generally work causes my anxiety. The shop I used to work in used to contantly ask me to go into work. And now every morning I get anxious about them asking me to work.
I work in a shop which is open mon-fri until 8 and then the weekend. I'm only part time but often around xmas (october or now onwards) I have to do a lot of overtime. My hours are never the same so I can't really organise my life and visiting my family.
I don't mind the extra and I do help out.

I'm posting now because I had a phone call from work asking me to go in and now I feel anxious. They never phone, they always text. It's after 3 and they are asking me to go in. I said no because I know my hours will be mayhem the next few months (I hate Xmas because I start about 7 some morings annd do long shifts and hours I'm not used to. I am so anxious this time of year because of how busy work is. There is such a heavy work load with stock and customers)
so I'm taking the break while I can. Well actually I said no because I would either go in now quickly iron my uniform and then have no food. Or eat and then won't get in until about 5pm so what's the point of going in for a three hour shift? I don't get extra for it and it's really short notice.

I always feel guilty or that I'm going to get a row when I say no. (I've had rows in the past for turning down work by the manager of my previous job when she was asking me at the end of every shift to work on, sometimes until 9 in the night)
I really would like a better job but the only jobs about are under 16 hours and I can't afford to get anything less than 20.
I get so anxious and even though i said no and made my decision I'm anxious now and feel a bit upset.