PDA

View Full Version : Prozac success stories ?

dopey dave
02-10-13, 11:47
Hi there , im a newbie and looking for some help , ive suffered with social anxiety and depression for about 8 years . Ive been on various medication , sertraline , citalopram , mertazapine , venlaflaxine , and allthough some have helped my symptoms , the side effects have been too great to cope with in normal life . My doc is now going to try me on prozac , i was just wondering what to expect from the side effects and how long it will be before i get some benefits . Im getting to the point where i think nothing is going to help me , and im going to be in this hell forever . Im going to be cross dosing from venlafaxine to prozac from tomorrow .Wish me luck :)

Speranza
02-10-13, 13:29
I saw almost instant benefits. I had a bad headache on and off for a few days but it went. I was exhausted for about four days but that has largely lifted. I have noticed I am less fluent when speaking but I am a LOT LOT LOT calmer even though I'm going through a pretty hellish time.

Good luck!!

Tessar
02-10-13, 14:17
For me Prozac (fluoxetine) has always worked well. Inside a couple of weeks I have more energy & feel more positive. Recently I tried a break from it. Well, it made me realise how much it does benefit me & that I'm right to be on it. Needless to say I am back taking the full dose again. WISHING YOU LUCK!!

WantToFeelHappyAgain
02-10-13, 23:13
I was very apprehensive taking Fluoxetine to begin with because of the list of side effects. Anyway got to the point I couldn't continue how I was, just felt so awful. 7 weeks on, I am SO much better and friends/family have been telling me I've got a brightness about me again - my sister commented on me laughing which I hadn't done much of recently!

Had some side effects but nothing too bad. The worst was definitely the overwhelming tiredness I struggled with for about 2 weeks but that's now lifted.