PDA

View Full Version : New Job Stress!

Jacsta
07-10-13, 16:50
Hi all

Some of you know that I recently qualified as a nurse after 3 long hard years of tears, stress and anxiety. It is my best life achievement so far and I really am proud.

So I started my new job a week ago on a hospital ward, and surprising to me I seem to be on a bit of a downer.....Surely its not good to dread work in the first week! I have concluded that my "blip" is down to me putting too much pressure on myself, and most probably expecting far too much of myself....afterall I have never worked in this hospital before, never worked in this type of ward....so there are lots of things to learn.

My irrational depressey/anxious self doubts my abilities, and feel like I'm in way over my head. My logical self keeps saying these feelings will pass and I'll get more confident as time goes by....and yes I believe this, but it doesn't stop the feeling crap at the moment.

So.....any tips on getting through this transitional phase? I shall continue to argue with myself and slap myself, but just wondered if anyone else has new job stressbuster tips!

Many Thanks

Jac

celticlass62
07-10-13, 17:21
Hi jacsta good luck i9n your new job hunny .
i hope everything works out for you and you will be a brilliant nurse.
lots and lots of love to you
celticlass xxxx:hugs::hugs:

sophieunderscore
07-10-13, 17:32
Sorry you're feeling down hun, and you will get through this, we'll make sure of it. When I was stressed with work I would always have a shower as soon as I got home to wash away the day, got changed out of my "work clothes" and then watched TV or something to distract myself, have some chocolate, or a glass of wine, or treat yourself to something really nice for tea. Just keep going, you'll be amazed at how soon you'll feel at home xxxx

Annie0904
07-10-13, 17:33