PDA

View Full Version : Long term CBT - will that kill or cure?

Andria24
09-10-13, 10:40
I've been earmarked for long-term CBT therapy. Being honest (and of course allowing for the anxious me to be in control) I have no interest in looking into CBT, only in asking Dr Google how much longer I've got left to live.

Having never tried it (or been offered it) I'm looking for other people's perspective. I'm massively open-minded about it and welcome the fact that I'm soon going for an evaluation (I feel like someone asked me to a prom ... ) in order that someone (a doctor I presume) can determine where to make a start.

Like many on the site my background is convoluted. Messy as a knotty ball of wool dropped in a treacle tin. Then the cat came out to play.

I'm also horribly honest with myself (not always helpful) - I don't consider myself to have health anxiety, rather it's a fear of death. Got that watching Bambi. That and my dad's attitude to a 5 year old child's existential questions, and his innate (and horrible) ability to tell a tall story that was always deeply embedded in doom, gloom and the Grim Reapers usually short but sweet visits.

There's the fear of heights (Southport circa 1975, rocking around on a Big Wheel - with my dad. Almost fell out). The dark - dad's tomfoolery, monsters under the bed, that kind of thing. Don't get me started on who's fault the spider phobia is.

Beyond that I've got a dreadful mother (decided I was unlovable. Out of 4 children), thrown out at 16, largely tormented/ignored 'til I stopped talking to her 5 years ago (that or bury her under her patio). I was pretty much abused from birth until 6 years ago. Lost a son. All kinds of other horrors have happened (I'm a bloody magnet for chaos and destruction) and you know, nothing dealt with is nothing gotten over. Or so I'm told.