PDA

View Full Version : Hey guys

Kmccluskey
09-10-13, 23:09
Hi everyone ,

I'm kieron, I'm 21 and a student at de Montfort university in Leicester , I'm in my 3rd year now and I a am really struggling with panic attacks or something worse. I feel like I will dieat any moment an I feel as though I will have a heart attack. My life is ruined at the moment as my heart squeezes and tightens and I feel heavy at times. I also get othe panic symptoms but I'm so concerned for my heart. Feel like I'm a heart attack waiting to happen.. It's nice to have this website and I appreciate all of your help. Everything has come crashing down and I don't know what to do, I've tried picking myself up and it works for a while but then a symptom comes out of the blue and I'm not even thinking of them. I feel trapped and this is what makes me believe I'm not suffering anxiety, feel like a dead man walking. But anyway nice to meet you all , well virtually haha. any1 been through what I've been through on the site ?

Andria24
10-10-13, 05:27
Hey there Kieron, welcome :)

Have you seen a doctor or approached student services? Anxiety is a bloody nuisance of an affliction and creates all kinds of symptoms, all of which feel very real and are very frightening.

You're not alone in this and there is support out there. I wouldn't be surprised if there was already a support group of some kind attached to the university. Hundreds and hundreds of students suffer with anxiety as time wears on, it's pretty common in the academic world :)

Plus you can always call the anxiety helpline (it's a national group) between 10 in the morning and 10 at night. I'll go find you the number.

And there's always us :hugs:

Here's that number Kieron: 0800 138 8889

Cammy
10-10-13, 11:24