PDA

View Full Version : long time lurker...

gla
13-10-13, 04:55
...eventual poster :)

Hi,

I don't really know what to say; I'm not very good at this sort of thing. Its 4.30am as I start typing this, and I am feeling quite desperate.

I've had issues with anxiety/depression since my teens - its always struck me as strange, as I don't really know where it has stemmed from. In some way I've always felt disconnected from the world, and unable to fit in (but this could be just symptomatic of depression, I cannot work it out). I've had about three 'major' periods of depression, where it sort of left me reeling and became noticeable to others that something was up, and I wanted it all to just end. But most of the time its something I can cover up.

I'm starting to feel though, that another dark phase is closing in, and it is scaring me, because I don't know how I can work through it.

I'm 29 now, and I take Sertraline at the moment. For the past few months the feeling of depression has been increasing, and the symptoms have been getting more prominant. I've been here before, so I can sense how I'm doing, and how worrying it is because I'm starting to feel that a big episode is afoot if I'm not careful. Whenever I fall back like this, I feel more of a failure, and more guilty than ever -I mean, why can't I deal with this by now?? Etc.

Its a bore to people - you can see the look in their eyes if I talk about it with them - the oh god, she's having a moan again, I think she likes being down - sort of look, and the exasperation that I can't sort myself out. I can empathise with them, though -- I feel exactly the same about myself.