PDA

View Full Version : Gave myself anxiety pains

cactusjohn5
29-10-13, 01:38
So i am new to anxiety and i have been having very severe chest pains for about 5 days, went to the dr had an EKG all was good, saw my Behavioral Therapist he isn't really helping but he told me i have to have an hour of fun a day, no matter what. He made a good point of why aren't you having fun? And i said because i feel like i am dying all the time, he said well then die having fun and not all stressed out sitting in bed or in a chair.

So i came home and played a board game with my fiance and had a small dinner, i then realized that my chest pains were gone and i was relaxed! First time in a month i was relaxed. Well this sent me into overdrive, what is going on with my body that nothing hurts, nothing is twitching and no pains!!! About 30 min later they were all back!

Is it possible that i might have had a minor breakthrough then ruined it by thinking!!!

Dazza123
29-10-13, 07:37
You focused on something else, other than the anxiety, so it went away for a short period. So, if you can spend more time during the day focusing on other things, ie fun things, then it could seriously lower your anxiety and you might teach yourself ways of controlling it. Anxiety is all in the mind, so if you can push it to the background, and bring normality to the foreground then thats gotta be more fun.

HoneyLove
29-10-13, 07:48
Cactusjohn, think about how long you've been suffering with anxiety - it's going to take a while for that to unwind. Having some fun with your fiancé is a great start, but it's not enough to change everything straight away.

You've got to keep working at it, every day. And if you do feel a little anxiety or pains creeping in, just accept it and go with it, if you fight it that'll just send you straight back into anxiety/panic mode.