PDA

View Full Version : newbie

seventytimes7
04-11-13, 21:12
Hi Everyone...
I'm Chantel. I'm 25, and a long term sufferer of panic attacks, anxiety and depression. I'm currently taking citalopram, which I have been for 4 years now.
I always feel so awkward doing these 'say hi!' things. But I guess its a good place to start?

MRS STRESS ED
04-11-13, 21:17
:welcome:you will find lots of help and support here

Miss Rainy Day
04-11-13, 21:17
Hiya I'm also new to this only signed up this evening. I'm also new to feeling like this! (Lol) I suffered from acute depression as a teenager but now this is a whole new level.

Sparkle1984
04-11-13, 21:54
Welcome to the forums! I'm sure you'll find plenty of help and support here - I certainly have. :) I'm on citalopram too. Do you know what could have caused your anxiety?

seventytimes7
04-11-13, 22:52
Welcome to the forums! I'm sure you'll find plenty of help and support here - I certainly have. :) I'm on citalopram too. Do you know what could have caused your anxiety?

A whole amalgamation of things! I've always worried since I was a kid. I had a bit of traumatic childhood, which has always made me very edgy. Allot of it stems from that. I had a wonderful counsellor for just over a year, who helped me to realise where allot of my anxiety stems from.
Unfortunately I had to stop seeing her as I became older than the age limit (it was through a charity for young people).
Think I would like to try again with someone at some point. How about you?

Sparkle1984
04-11-13, 23:01
I had a few difficult situations and traumas in my childhood too, like being badly bullied, family problems and my grandfathers dying when I was very young. I'm about to start online 1:1 counselling so hopefully I'll find that helpful. I think it will be helpful for you to try counselling again sometime.

retter
04-11-13, 23:23