PDA

View Full Version : Nightly blood clot fears. :(

well-then
09-11-13, 12:48
I'm an 18 year old girl without risk factors - I don't smoke, I don't need to take birth control, and I'm not overweight. Still, every time I try to sleep, I find myself paranoid that I have a blood clot in my legs. As a university student, I sometimes have no choice but to sit down for long periods of time to study.

I've been effectively avoiding googling symptoms (I'm very proud that I've been able to resist lately), but the paranoia still eats away at me. Tonight in particular, I've been feeling a slight stabbing sensation in my calf - though it's only moderate and on-again-off-again, so I'm trying not to take it too seriously. I've just finished an exam - one where I sat down studying for ages.

I can't go and get checked - mother dearest is will not tolerate me expressing my fears, and I can't deal with confrontation at the moment. Especially if it turns out to be nothing - she'd never let me live it down, and she's got enough material against me already.

There's no swelling or redness (though it's hard to tell when you have a dark complexion), but I can't stop fretting over it and losing sleep. :\

Gina9
09-11-13, 13:43
I'm an 18 year old girl without risk factors - I don't smoke, I don't need to take birth control, and I'm not overweight. Still, every time I try to sleep, I find myself paranoid that I have a blood clot in my legs. As a university student, I sometimes have no choice but to sit down for long periods of time to study.

I've been effectively avoiding googling symptoms (I'm very proud that I've been able to resist lately), but the paranoia still eats away at me. Tonight in particular, I've been feeling a slight stabbing sensation in my calf - though it's only moderate and on-again-off-again, so I'm trying not to take it too seriously. I've just finished an exam - one where I sat down studying for ages.