PDA

View Full Version : Think I'll fail uni due to depression & anxiety :(

Scaredy_Cat
13-11-13, 03:13
My moods have been up and down since I can remember, but having a really hard time recently.

I'm in my final year of university and I'm really struggling at the moment. Throughout the course, my work has been greatly affected by these negative thoughts I have. Whether it's that my mood is low (or very low), or I'm anxious about something, I can't concentrate on my work. I sit down to work and I can't stop thinking about whatever is on my mind. So I try to distract myself with other things (I find reading trashy celebrity stories works surprisingly well :/), but this doesn't last long. Even so, usually I manage to get *some* words down on paper, but something has happened recently that has left me feeling so low that I just can't stop crying, can't sleep at night but don't want to get out of bed in the morning, let alone go to uni. I'm really thinking that I'm going to fail, which will send me further into depression. Fell so helpless, I don't know what to do :(

hanshan
13-11-13, 07:32
See a doctor to document your problems with anxiety and depression (and get treatment!)

Take a note from the doctor to a student counsellor at university to explain how your state of health is affecting your study. It's an illness just like any other, and you should be able to get special leave to delay assignments and exams until you feel well.

Good luck with it. I worked in a student support unit for a number of years, and guarantee that they will be sympathetic to you if you are doing your best in a difficult time.

Sparkle1984
13-11-13, 08:25