PDA

View Full Version : 26 year old plagued by panic

polly87
20-11-13, 21:09
Hello all

I'm Polly and I'm a PhD student. I am not new to anxiety. To be honest I've had it in one way or another my whole life. As an infant I coped by giving everyone that wasn't in my immediate family the silent treatment (I've read about selective mutes since then, I'm pretty sure I was one). At school I skived off most of my early secondary school days. During my GCSEs I became severely anxious about work and would procrastinate to the point of self-sabotage.

And yet, against all odds, I became a fully functioning and high achieving adult. I am still introverted by nature, but I'm not shy either and I can be quite the hedonist when I want to be. I'm fiercely ambitious and pretty good at acquitting myself in work and social situations. I'm smiley and giggly and very optimistic - at least I was...

I started to get behind in my PhD work, and then started having panic attacks: shortness of breath, heart palpitations, weird sensory discombobulations (don't know quite how to explain it). They don't last long but they are pretty frequent. I procrastinate fiercely, and now it is certainly impacting the quality of my work and my chances of completing on time. It is a shame because I really do enjoy my doctoral project, and though I'm not a natural writer I'm comfortable with writing in most situations. Now, going to the library triggers panic attacks, as does sending work to my supervisors. I'm also now very depressed - I am binge eating and suffering quite regular emotional breakdowns and periods of disconnect from my friends and my loving partner.