PDA

View Full Version : A little experiment for you today...

skippy66
27-11-13, 10:22
One of the key elements of my recovery from health anxiety was to consistently put myself out of my comfort zone. By doing so, it expands your comfort zone.

This is not as tricky as it seems, as you do things very gradually. Small steps. But you have to start taking action. Everyone's comfort zone will be different - getting out of it could mean going shopping without your emergency diazepam, watching an episode of ER, deliberately exposing yourself to a scary health story on the internet in the knowledge that it doesn't relate to your situation in any way; doing some gentle exercise; taking a trip out in the car.

Your challenge for today is to put yourself briefly out of your comfort zone. How you do this is up to you, but do it and report back to us at the end of the day to tell us what happened.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor and none of this should be taken as medical advice. I'm just telling you what worked for me.

Look forward to hearing from you later…BE BRAVE!

Tanner40
27-11-13, 12:56
Wow Skippy, you have read my mind this morning. I was just getting ready to post about a trip I am taking today, way out of my comfort zone. I willmstill make my post, as I intend to update it throughout the day.

My partner and I are driving to Atlanta today for the Thanksgiving holidays. Road trips generally kick up my anxiety level and I create panic attacks for myself. Today, I have made a list of coping mechanisms and put it in my phone, a toolbox for the mind of sorts.

The trip will take 6-8 hours and will go through a stretch of mountains that frighten me. My partner is so excited to see her family and I don't want to put a damper on this trip for her. I am trying to approach this trip with a positive attitude and coping skills.

I will report back and let you all know how it goes.

katesa
27-11-13, 13:02
Great thread skippy!