PDA

View Full Version : Arrgggg!

Fishmanpa
04-12-13, 13:26
Hi,

I never post on my own behalf but I wanted to share an issue I suffer with. It doesn't really cause anxiety per se' as much as it's just really annoying and has caused me stress.

Starting in my teens, from my best recollection, I've had an aversion to repetitive and loud sounds. It's unusual in that I'm a musician but it's only certain "repetitive" sounds that get to me.

The clicking of a pen, the clanging of pots and pans or dishes. the repetitive sound of a machine, a loud truck etc., sniffing, crunching foods, beeping (grrrr) from a phone or a machine (it's gotten really bad after my cancer treatment) etc. etc , all these types of sounds and many more set off a trigger in me that makes me want to get away from them or smash the living crap out of them or something! Concerning music, it accounts for my aversion to rap music and the repetitive samples and sounds used in them. It just makes me irritable. Even someone tapping their fingers or bouncing their leg gets to me.

I looked it up and there's actually a name for this. Misophonia. I've not been diagnosed with it but I sure do fit the profile. I'm not as bad off as some I've read about and it doesn't disrupt my life in a profound manner but damn if it's not annoying!

I have no idea how to lesson the effect these types of sounds have on me. I just always thought it was just a quirky thing with me but apparently it's not as uncommon as I thought.

Like I said, I'm just venting... thanks for reading ;)

Positive thoughts

Rennie1989
04-12-13, 14:23
I can hear high pitch noises, which hurts like hell, and I get irritated by loud noises. Gigs and cinemas are fine but if the TV is louder than needed I feel irritation build up, same when my husband is playing Battlefield, sirens outside etc.

I get irritated by repetitive noises too, like if someone taps their feet, customers at work slamming the buttons on the game machines etc.