PDA

View Full Version : Boredom: Cause or consequence of depression?

harasgenster
10-12-13, 11:42
Anybody else feel chronically bored? I think it's been part of me for a long time because my dad always complained that I was a 'jack of all trades, master of none' because when I was a kid I would ditch activities for others as soon as the challenge was starting to go out of them (so I'd learn an instrument, but once I was adequate and it was getting easier I'd get bored and learn a new one).

It's been particularly bad since graduating from university. I was immediately disappointed by life when I graduated because the challenge went out of it and there was no stimulation anymore (I enjoyed both academia and the creative projects we did - creative writing etc.)

I've tried to bring challenge and excitement into my life. I did stand-up comedy for a while, I'm in a band, I have a 'professional' career but to be honest the challenge has gone right out of it and I'm bored now. I'm about to start a new job but it sounds just as boring as the last one (it's paid twice as much though and I need the money). I try to keep up with creative writing and I'd like to make it my career one day, but it's difficult to get the concentration after work. I've tried learning to tap dance, organising hikes, learning to ski, going Go Karting, going to festivals....I'm still very bored.

It feels like I get depressed BECAUSE life is boring. But I wonder if it's the other way round - does being depressed make you chronically bored? Anyone else feel bored all the time? It seemed like after therapy the obvious thing to do was to change my life to make it less boring, but I'm actually finding it quite hard to do that. It would mean finding new friends, it would cost a lot of money, it would require a huge amount of effort, and it would mean doing a lot of things on my own (my friends/boyfriend don't have quite as broad interests to it's hard to find someone to accompany me to everything I do).