PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a serial Anxiety denier!

robert tressell
10-12-13, 21:39
Hi I'm new on the forum ;I am a 47 year old male who has suffered alone
with anxiety since childhood; I experience many difficult symptoms and am really struggling to come to terms with this the older i get. I work in sales and cover my feelings well, even from family and friends, all of whom think i'm a great guy but inside i feel like nothing. I have resisted medication and had less than sympathetic doctor consultations,maybe i hide it from them also!!
Hope to get some advice on how others cope. Recently I've been having panics and health anxiety. Another set of blood tests results due tomorrow and I suffer from GERD which doesn't help my health anxiety as chest pain is quite frequent. Seems to be getting worse, targets up at work, moving house and two recent deaths in the family haven't helped!
I've been offered Cipralex but am reluctant to begin this, i'm interested to know of any experiences with this drug, does it help?
Found some info on 5 HTP, grateful to hear of any experiences.
My mothers family suffered from "terrible nerves" as they used to say and sadly my eldest daughter has anxiety and depression and is on Prozac. There must be a strong genetic link in this illness. It destroys me to see her suffer.

Annie0904
10-12-13, 22:00
Hi Robert welcome to NMP. I agree with the genetic link as my Dad suffers from anxiety as did his Mother. (Or could it be learnt behaviour from them?) Sorry I can't advise re Cipralex but I am sure others have taken it. You could try the medication forum link at the bottom of the page.

Tanner40
10-12-13, 22:03
Welcome to the forum, Robert. I'm sure that you will find a great deal of hope on here. I know that definitely have found a lot of support and understanding.

phillipsbuttrey
11-12-13, 01:32